Upcoming Events

Circulate Capital Ocean Fund: A pioneering, $100M investment fund to prevent ocean plastic

Event Date: 
Wednesday, September 23 at 1pm US EDT / 10am US PDT / 5pm UTC

Presented by: April Crow, Vice President of External Affairs & Investor Relations, Circulate Capital

Roughly 8 million tons of plastic enter the ocean every year -- the equivalent of a garbage truck unloading every minute. Most of this plastic enters the ocean from just five countries in South and Southeast Asia. In 2018, Circulate Capital established the US$100M Circulate Capital Ocean Fund (CCOF), the world’s first investment fund dedicated to preventing ocean plastic. CCOF invests in companies and technologies that improve waste collection, waste sorting and processing, waste recycling, and plastic end use in South and Southeast Asia. Financing innovative local companies that are working to address these waste management challenges is a critical step to reducing the flow of ocean plastics and improving economic development and public health outcomes This webinar will examine what the investments could look like at the ground level, how improvements could be scaled, and how South and Southeast Asia could ultimately become a model for fighting plastic waste.

Co-sponsors: OCTO (MarineDebris.info, OpenChannels, The Skimmer, MPA News, EBM Tools Network)

The effects of climate change in marine spatial planning: pathways and solutions

Event Date: 
Thursday, October 1 at 1pm US EDT / 10am US PDT / 5pm UTC

As marine spatial planning (MSP) operates in a changing ocean, properly addressing and integrating climate effects is vital. However, few marine spatial plans properly or explicitly consider climate change. This is a complex topic, full of intricacies, dimensions, and challenges (scientific, socioeconomic, and political), and multiple solutions will be needed. We highlight ways forward, based on real examples around the globe, on how climate change can be integrated into MSP. Links with global ocean governance goals and sustainable development will be explored.

Co-sponsors: OCTO (EBM Tools Network, The Skimmer, OpenChannels, MPA News, MarineDebris.info)

Presented by: Catarina Frazão Santos of the University of Lisbon and NOVA-SBE and Tundi Agardy of Sound Seas

The Clean Currents Coalition: A global collaborative solution to the complex plastics problem

Event Date: 
Tuesday, October 20 at 2pm US EDT / 11am US PDT / 6pm UTC

Research shows that 80% of the plastic waste that ends up in the ocean comes from land, with rivers acting as one of the major pathways. Therefore, rivers provide a high-impact opportunity for intercepting plastic waste before it reaches the ocean. The Clean Currents Coalition is a global network of 9 teams combatting the flow of plastic waste from river systems to the ocean. The Coalition are piloting technologies for physical capture of plastic waste in polluted rivers and catalyzing policy-based, infrastructural, and societal change to reduce plastic waste leakage into those rivers. Join the webinar to learn more about the solutions championed by Coalition member teams in their river systems, the plastic-intercepting technologies they are piloting, and the strategies for creating behavior change in these communities.

Presented by: Molly Morse and Valeria Tamayo-Canadas from the Benioff Ocean Initiative

Co-sponsors: OCTO (MarineDebris.info, OpenChannels, The Skimmer, MPA News, EBM Tools Network)