Fighting Marine Debris on the US West Coast – Effective Actions and Tools

Event Date: 
Thursday, March 5 at 1pm US EST / 10am US PST / 6pm UTC

This webinar features experts from Washington, Oregon, and California highlighting their clean-up, education, and regulatory actions to curtain marine debris. These efforts include: 1) a project to remove over 382 tons of creosoted wood and other marine debris from the shorelines of the Puget Sound; 2) professional development training workshops for teachers to influence marine debris prevention among students and the community; and 3) the world's first disposable-free dining ordinance that requires that all on-site dining use reusable foodware and promotes reusables for take-out dining by charging for disposable cups.

Presented by: Casey Palmer-McGee of the Samish Island Nation, Cait Goodwin and Tracy Cres of Oregon Sea Grant, and Miriam Gordon of UPSTREAM.

Co-sponsors: OCTO (MarineDebris.info, OpenChannels, The Skimmer, MPA News, EBM Tools Network).